• Ever wanted an RSS feed of all your favorite gaming news sites? Go check out our new Gaming Headlines feed! Read more about it here.
Status
Not open for further replies.

oni-link

tag reference no one gets
Oct 25, 2017
UK
10 years ago today, one of the most famous posts of all time was made by Muppet345

Square just shot themselves in the foot.

I don't know how much the rest of you know about Japanese culture (I'm an expert), but honor and shame are huge parts of it. It's not like it is in America where you can become successful by being an asshole. If you screw someone over in Japan, you bring shame to yourself, and the only way to get rid of that shame is repentance.

What this means is the japanese public, after hearing about this, is not going to want to purchase FFXIII for either system, nor will they purchase any of Square's games. This is HUGE. You can laugh all you want, but Square has alienated an entire market with this move.

Square, publicly apologize and cancel FFXIII for 360 or you can kiss your business goodbye.

I've seen so many versions of this post reworked for most major news stories over the last decade, and it always makes me smile

So, do we have any Japanese culture experts here? How did Squares shot to the foot affect them over the last decade?

Mods, bring shame on me if this thread is against the rules

Xx 720

Nov 3, 2017
I remember after the trailer ended and the FF XIII logo came up the internet kind of imploded lol fun times.

Plum

May 31, 2018
Y'all realize that post was satire, right

oni-link just shot themselves in the foot.

I don't know how much the rest of you know about Internet satire culture (I'm an expert), but honor and shame are huge parts of it. It's not like it is in real-life comedy where you can become successful by being an asshole. If you screw a fellow meme connoisseur over on the internet, you bring shame to yourself, and the only way to get rid of that shame is repentance.