derFeef

Oct 26, 2017
Austria
I'm a technical artist and I'll have to work with an AI (test, brainstorm and workflow knowledge building) project soon.

And while I'm really not a fan of generative AI for art/creation, I'm looking forward on seeing the margins and what can be done. Ideally and hopefully, the human creativity and skill is still the most important factor.

We are very restricted by what models and inputs/checkpoints we are allowed to use, powered and feeded by our own server and art. So that's already good imo.

We will see...

Fatoy

Mar 13, 2019
It's almost certain that Sam Altman himself had a hand in casting the actress who did the voice template for Sky, since he clearly wants ChatGPT to sound like the AI in Her. But it also seems pretty clear that there was another real actress, and that she did the work back in 2023 - since Sky has been available in ChatGPT since last year.

That would have all been fine and above board, but Altman seems to have gone a bit power-mad and decided that an ersatz Johansson wasn't good enough, and that he had the resources to cast the real thing - not banking on the fact that she wouldn't be interested.

Voltaire

Sep 13, 2018
Yes OpenAI share their models and you can use it within your own code. Each request costs a tiny bit of money, so you can't use it infinitely. Most AI companies are just using ChatGPT for you in an applied way and with good prompts.

Other companies like Facebook also have their own AI models - their you can actually download, run on your own PC and use for free.
To be clear OpenAI do not share their models, they give access to an API (including to researchers) everything they create is closed source and opaque. Even the "papers" they publish on those models give no description of the architecture of the model, they're pretty much PR pieces to congratulate themselves on the quality of their results.