• Ever wanted an RSS feed of all your favorite gaming news sites? Go check out our new Gaming Headlines feed! Read more about it here.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Icemonk191

Banned
Oct 25, 2017
Sakurai just shot himself in the foot by adding Minecraft Steve to Smash.

I don't know how much the rest of you know about Japanese culture (I'm an expert), but honor and shame are huge parts of it. It's not like it is in America where you can become successful by being an asshole. If you screw someone over in Japan, you bring shame to yourself, and the only way to get rid of that shame is repentance.

What this means is the japanese public, after hearing about this, is not going to want to purchase Smash's new character pass, nor will they purchase any of Sakurai's games. This is HUGE. You can laugh all you want, but Sakurai has alienated an entire market with this move.

Sakurai, publicly apologize and cancel your plans for future DLC characters, or you can kiss your business goodbye.

cloudzack117

Banned
Oct 25, 2017
tenor.gif

Streusel

â–˛ Legend â–˛
Dec 28, 2017
i expect posts like this, just meant seriously, when a Western character who is unpopular in Japan is added

Juryvicious

Oct 28, 2017
I remember when this was originally posted on NeoGAF, it was truly an epic comment, born out of a serious, desperate console war moment. The gift that keeps on giving.

bbq of doom

Oct 25, 2017
It was GameFaqs, actually

I googled and this is all I found:

knowyourmeme.com

Japanese Culture (I'm an Expert)

Japanese Culture (I'm an Expert) refers to a copypasta which spread primarily on NeoGAF making fun of a poster who claimed to be an expert on Japanese culture criticizing Square Enix for releasing Final Fantasy XIII on the Xbox 360. The copypasta has been parodied with numerous different...

Schlorgan

Banned
Oct 25, 2017
Salt Lake City, Utah
I googled and this is all I found:

knowyourmeme.com

Japanese Culture (I'm an Expert)