• Ever wanted an RSS feed of all your favorite gaming news sites? Go check out our new Gaming Headlines feed! Read more about it here.
  • We have made minor adjustments to how the search bar works on ResetEra. You can read about the changes here.

Neoxon

Spotlighting Black Excellence - Diversity Analyst
Oct 25, 2017
Houston, TX
Since we recently got confirmation of a 2nd season of Smash Ultimate DLC & it's looking like the Fighters Pass is gonna be all guys, I thought I should bring forward one of my longer posts from the Smash speculation thread in hopes that it raises awareness of the current problem plaguing Smash in the hopes that things can improve for next season (if the roster hasn't been decided yet).

While I respect Sakurai immensely as a developer, my main qualm with him (especially considering how the Fighters Pass is shaping up) is his seeming indifference towards representation for both women & people of color as well as his rigid-ness when it comes to his protagonists/poster children first policy. Though to be clear, when I say indifference, I mean that Sakurai's priorities are elsewhere. And the fact that he sticks so rigidly to his policy of main characters & poster children first for any given franchise doesn't help matters. The two aforementioned issues kinda bleed into each other as well. There aren't a ton of people of color to choose from, but Sakurai could make the most of what's available (Ex: Elma). An example of this for the next Smash game (beyond the aforementioned Elma) is Twintelle, who would help with Smash's issues of few women & even fewer people of color. But I can't see her getting in before ARMS poster boy Spring Man. As for how he's handled women, I spearheaded an entire thread talking about where he can improve.