• Ever wanted an RSS feed of all your favorite gaming news sites? Go check out our new Gaming Headlines feed! Read more about it here.
  • We have made minor adjustments to how the search bar works on ResetEra. You can read about the changes here.
Nov 13, 2017

"Jump Up, Super Star!" just came up for me as background music while I was playing Smash Bros. so I decided to revisit this moment from Super Mario Odyssey that made me extremely emotional the first time I played it. I legitimately cried while I played it. Low and behold, I take a peek at the YouTube comments and I'm not alone!

Did anyone else have a similar experience? I wonder what gets everyone so emotional about this scene. I think it's a mix of just how pure and joyous this scene is + reminiscing on how far gaming has come since I started playing + being painfully aware of my own humanity and that Mario will live on longer than any of us will.

I'm tearing up just hearing it again.

PlanetSmasher

The Abominable Showman
Oct 25, 2017
It was a great reference and a very fun sequence, but no. I don't cry at stuff like that.

Renna Hazel

Oct 27, 2017
I don't think video games can really make me cry, but this didn't even come remotely close to evoking that reaction. It was really cool though.

Deleted member 16908

Oct 27, 2017
No? What? It was neat but that's about it.

What made me cry was realizing that I had spent $60 on a game that was so bloated with filler moons that it made it difficult to find the ones that were actually interesting and challenging to obtain.

Zalman

Oct 25, 2017
Cry, no. Emotional, yes. The Donkey Kong part is what got me. Just a really cool celebration.

SlipperyMoose

Banned
Oct 28, 2017
I mean it's a cool scene but it's nothing that would make me cry. Kind of odd that some people reacted that way but to each their own I guess.

FlintSpace

Banned
Oct 28, 2017