• To celebrate the release of Halo: The Master Chief Collection on Steam, Xbox Games Studios has provided 5 Steam copies of the game and 5 Xbox One copies of the game! We will be giving these away in the Gaming Giveaways |OT|. Some Steam copies will also be given away to the PC Gaming Era community.
  • An old favorite feature returns: Q&ERA is back! This time we'll be collecting questions for Remedy Entertainment, makers of Max Payne, Alan Wake, Quantum Break, and Control. Members can submit questions for the next 6 days, 7 hours, 16 minutes, 44 seconds. Submissions will close on Dec 12, 2019 at 12:00 AM.

Halo: Reach MCC |OT| Reaching back into the MCC without an MC

Hobbes

Incident Manager
Verified
Oct 27, 2017
4,204
United States



MCC Era Discord

Hidden content
You need to reply to this thread in order to see this content.
Things to be added within the day:

Full PC Settings Details
Graphic displaying metacritic / open critic scores (Metacritic Score - 91 For the Xbox 360)

Media:


Cost:
$10 via Steam

Additionally this OT will be updated to incorporate ALL future releases of the Halo Franchise on PC as part of the porting process of the Master Chief Collection.
 
Last edited:
OP
OP
Hobbes

Hobbes

Incident Manager
Verified
Oct 27, 2017
4,204
United States
Launch Day Times
NOTE: You cannot preload the game or use a VPN to gain early access. All release times are simultaneous.

10 AM PT
12 PM Mexico City
1 PM ET
3 PM São Paulo
6 PM London
7 PM Lagos
7 PM Berlin
9 PM Moscow
2 AM Beijing (Dec 4)
3 AM Tokyo (Dec 4)
5 AM Sydney (Dec 4)
7 AM Auckland (Dec 4)

Launch Day Multiplayer Playlists

SOCIAL GAMES
  • 1v1 Matchmaking
    • Game Categories: Slayer
    • Maps: Countdown, Zealot, and Forge World (MLG Element, MLG Sanctuary)
    • Settings: Hardcore ZBNS
  • 2v2 Matchmaking
    • Game Categories: Slayer, Flag & Bomb, Zone Control, Asset Denial
    • Maps: Countdown, Powerhouse, Reflection, Anchor 9, Battle Canyon, Solitary, and Forge World (Asylum, Select)
    • Settings: Title Update
  • 4v4 Matchmaking
    • Game Categories: Slayer, Flag and Bomb, Zone Control, Asset Denial, Action Sack, SWAT, Snipers, and Grifball*
    • Maps: Boardwalk, Countdown, Powerhouse, Reflection, Sword Base, Zealot, Anchor 9, Tempest, Condemned, Battle Canyon, Penance, Solitary, High Noon, and Forge World (various)
    • Settings: Title Update (Grifball is Vanilla)
  • 8p FFA Matchmaking
    • Game Categories: Slayer, Zone Control, Asset Denial, Action Sack, SWAT, and Snipers
    • Maps: Boardwalk, Countdown, Powerhouse, Reflection, Sword Base, Zealot, Anchor 9, Condemned, Battle Canyon, Penance, Solitary, High Noon, and Forge World (various)
    • Settings: Title Update
  • 12p FFA Matchmaking
    • Game Categories: Infection
    • Maps: Boardwalk, Countdown, Powerhouse, Reflection, Sword Base, Zealot, Anchor 9, Condemned, Penance, Solitary, and Breakneck
    • Settings: Vanilla
  • 8v8 Matchmaking
    • Game Categories: Slayer, Flag and Bomb, Zone Control, Asset Denial, Action Sack, and Snipers
    • Maps: Boardwalk, Boneyard, Spire, Breakpoint, Tempest, Highlands, Ridgeline, High Noon, Breakneck, and Forge World (various)
    • Settings: Title Update
COMPETITIVE GAMES
  • Halo: Reach Team Hardcore
    • Game Variants: Hardcore Slayer, Hardcore CTF 3, Hardcore CTF 5, and Hardcore King
    • Maps: Countdown, Zealot, Battle Canyon, Penance, Forge World (MLG Sanctuary, MLG Pit, MLG Nexus)
    • Settings: Hardcore ZBNS (based on MLG v7)
  • Invasion
    • Game Variants: Invasion
    • Maps: Boneyard, Spire, Breakpoint, and Forge World (Broadcast, Floodgate, Overgrowth, Refinery)
    • Settings: Vanilla
FIREFIGHT
  • Heroic Firefight Limited
    • Game Variants: Firefight Limited and Generator Defense Limited
    • Maps: Beachhead, Corvette, Courtyard, Glacier, Holdout, Outpost, Overlook, Waterfront, Unearthed, and Installation 04
  • Firefight Arcade
    • Game Variants: Arcadefight, Fiestafight, Fistfight, FRGfight, Nadefight, Plasmafight, Rocketfight, and Sniperfight
    • Maps: Beachhead, Corvette, Courtyard, Glacier, Holdout, Outpost, Overlook, Waterfront, Unearthed, and Installation 04
 
Last edited:

Frox

Member
Oct 25, 2017
4,144
Can't wait.

Halo Reach is the only Halo game I haven't played.

Btw do the games in the MCC actually hold out their original menu screens?
 

GuitarGuruu

Member
Oct 26, 2017
3,008
Stoked for this. Been too long since I've played and I loved the game modes in reach. I actually remember playing the originals multiplayer beta.

Did it have big team battle I forget.
 

Chandler

Member
Oct 25, 2017
1,135
ONE MORE DAY, LETS GO

I'm so excited to be playing Reach again, and finally on PC. It feels like I've reopened a time capsule of my childhood playing with friends for hours every night after school. Got new (and better) friends I'm playing with now though, but we're still just as excited.
 
Oct 27, 2017
2,526
Is it a global release/launch time (10:00 AM PST on Dec 3rd) for both Xbox/PC GamePass and Steam or is it launching earlier for the GamePass (and I guess the paid Xbox version) versions?
 

Tagyhag

Member
Oct 27, 2017
5,758
Beat the campaign but never played the MP (Didn't have Live Gold at the time and the talk of the armor lock kind of drew me away) but excited to try it out now. Hope it's good!

Honestly it's just a nice appetizer while I wait for Halo 1/2/3 MP.
 
Oct 25, 2017
9,070
Can someone tell me how the package for MCC works? Like, if I buy Reach first, will I get a discount if I later decide to purchase the whole MCC?
 

Proven

Member
Oct 29, 2017
3,836
Beat the campaign but never played the MP (Didn't have Live Gold at the time and the talk of the armor lock kind of drew me away) but excited to try it out now. Hope it's good!

Honestly it's just a nice appetizer while I wait for Halo 1/2/3 MP.
There are 2 forms of Halo REACH MP on MCC

1. Title Update Reach reduces bloom to 85%
2. NBNS which is the hardcore settings where there is no bloom and no sprint.

NBNS Reach is the best Halo multiplayer this decade
 
Oct 25, 2017
2,976
Excited to play this again. While far from my favorite Halo multiplayer experience, I still played it a ton and enjoyed it, despite its issues. Playing this at 60 FPS will be a treat.
 

Frox

Member
Oct 25, 2017
4,144
I agree I miss the old menu but the game wouldn’t work if it wasn’t how it currently is. Plus the new menus are actually really good

My favroite Halo menu.

I was expecting to see the Reach version with this release but oh well.
 

Tagyhag

Member
Oct 27, 2017
5,758
There are 2 forms of Halo REACH MP on MCC

1. Title Update Reach reduces bloom to 85%
2. NBNS which is the hardcore settings where there is no bloom and no sprint.

NBNS Reach is the best Halo multiplayer this decade
Yeah I'll definitely keep an open mind. I'm not really into SWAT so it'll be interesting to see what other playlists are popular.
 

Moose

Member
Oct 25, 2017
4,180
Yes, but I don't have $50 (CAD) lying around after Black Friday, whereas I can squeeze in $10 until I need to drop more
When I bought Reach on Steam there was no option to buy the rest of the package for the remaining $30 (I ended up refunding and then just buying the whole package) so you may want to wait until you have the money to spare to get the whole thing. Maybe do a gamepass trial for a month to play the game if you haven't done that yet.
 

Hardvlade

The Fallen
Oct 27, 2017
1,184
I'm super excited about playing this again. I wasn't a fan of the multiplayer (damn you armor lock), but I'm game for Legendary Campaign and Firefight. MCC is gonna get even crazier with the achievements.
 

Hawkster

Member
Mar 23, 2019
1,136
Please have uncapped framerate
In the last PC flight, we were able to further test our experimental implementation of variable frame rate (VFR) and the feature does not meet our quality expectations. We always knew and stated that some of these features would be a bit dicey given that the underlying games are old (9 years in this case) and were designed to run at 30FPS on a fixed platform (Xbox 360). The way VFR was built for Halo: Reach on PC created a variety of negative side effects and issues ranging from increased mouse input delay (which is the opposite of what should happen) to instability. The team has been hard at work on fundamental improvements which are showing very promising results in Ring 1/2 flighting.


We know this is a very important feature for the community, and with some recent refinements, VFR will be included at launch. Based on the recent improvements receiving positive feedback, we wanted players to have the option to use the experimental VFR option on Day 1. We look forward to your feedback and will continue to monitor this closely post-launch.
From the latest MCC Development: https://www.halowaypoint.com/en-us/news/mcc-development-update-november-2019