• Ever wanted an RSS feed of all your favorite gaming news sites? Go check out our new Gaming Headlines feed! Read more about it here.
  • We have made minor adjustments to how the search bar works on ResetEra. You can read about the changes here.

Is there a need to go even further beyond?

• Nah. 4k will be THE Rez for a long time.

Votes: 677 56.6%
  • Yah. 4k is not enough for me. I want 20k. I want 50k.

Votes: 332 27.8%
  • I want VEXK resolution.

Votes: 44 3.7%
  • I think I'll stick with 1080p....

Votes: 197 16.5%

• Total voters

Vex

Oct 25, 2017
What do y'all think?

I mean like yah 4k looks nice... Over 1080p...

But 4k and 8k barely look any different considering the horsepower needed to run 8k stuff. Monitors aren't going to get any bigger. Not like they need to. So the higher resolutions will be lost at some point yah? Diminishing returns and all that yah?

Im not really good at stuff like this but you guys get me yah?

YAH?

Last edited:

Betty

Banned
Oct 25, 2017
Somewhere far down the road they'll market 8k to get us to buy new tv's.

But for now 4k is still just taking off.

Deleted member 41931

User requested account closure
Apr 10, 2018
For me at least, not really. I already find over 1440p to start having diminishing returns. There's a notable difference when jumping to 4k, but its something you adjust to way quicker then previous resolution jumps. If we can do it, then sure, why not. I'd rather that power go to foliage and the like.

Now for large tvs and VR, that's a different situation.

Last edited:

Heid

Jan 7, 2018
For TVs and phones? Not for me

But for TV and phones so it can come to VR? Oh yah sure its totally necessary make 16K TVs already

CrazyAndy

Self-requested ban
Banned
Oct 27, 2017
8K and 4K look barely different? What? Of course there's a need to go higher than 4K. Maybe not now but definitely in the future.

Oct 27, 2017