• Ever wanted an RSS feed of all your favorite gaming news sites? Go check out our new Gaming Headlines feed! Read more about it here.

Deleted member 249

User requested account closure
Banned
Oct 25, 2017
I have been playing Assassin's Creed Odyssey for a few months now, and while my initial impression of the game was very positive, I was also hesitant to proclaim that I liked the game outright from that impression, given that Ubisoft games generally manage to start off on the right foot, but get long in the tooth the more time you spend on them.

With Odyssey, that has not been the case, and the more I play it, the more I like it. Assassin's Creed Odyssey is a remarkable game, and absolutely among my favorite open world titles of the generation. There is so much it does so well:
  • It has a vast list of all these different gameplay styles and metagame systems that theoretically should just add to the bloat and drag the game down, but which work together to retain a sense of variety in the game. So we have the war metagame, the Mercenaries metagame, the Cult of Kosmos metagame, the RPG mechanics, the naval gameplay, plus of course, the core Assassin's Creed gameplay loop as well. It's amazing how many different styles of gameplay come together so well, and keep things so varied
  • Simultaneously, these different styles add a degree of depth to the game. It's never prohibitively deep, to the point that you need to pay attention to it, which makes it exhausting to play; but it's just deep enough to engage your attention, without actually requiring your rapt focus
  • It's absolutely massive. There is so much to do in this game, and it feels like you are always achieving something, even if you put off the main quest forever. There's a ridiculous degree of content in this game, and that, coupled with the depth and the variety already mentioned, makes it incredible value for money