• Ever wanted an RSS feed of all your favorite gaming news sites? Go check out our new Gaming Headlines feed! Read more about it here.

Verdanth

Banned
Oct 30, 2017
Portugal
Just finished Xenoblade Chronicles 2 and man, what a fantastic game.

I bought the game back on December but left it on hold. This summer I started playing it and I'm glad I did.

I confess that in the early stages of the game I was nearly dropping it out, because all the mechanics and the early slow pace of the gameplay and story can easily steer some people of the game. I was on the edge but somehow managed to get pass those starting hours to find a game that has one of the most complex battle system that I ever played, and yet one of the most if not the most satisfying battle system ever.

When you get the hang of blade combos, fusion combos, chain attacks and a good pair of blades, the game manages to shine in an amazing way. It's such a joy in an RPG to see that your timing and notion of everything that pops out on the screen can have a huge impact on defeating a high level boss, something that for example I found Persona 5 lacking.

Building a strategy on the final boss to give him a 2M+ chain attack damage felt damn good.

Then we have the Titans, such wonderful and huge places to explore. So far I've spent about 150 hours in the game and I'm sure that I've missed a ton, because field skills, while a cool mechanic it can also feel a bit of a shore.

When I say that the battle system pushes the game beyond good, it's because in some moments the game can be a little dull, and if not for the amazing battle system and the addiction of keeping playing it, I don't know...

For example - sidequests. Besides the blade quests, which are cool, most of the side-quests fell dull and boring to do. Talk, fetch, defeat monster, deliver item: done.