• Ever wanted an RSS feed of all your favorite gaming news sites? Go check out our new Gaming Headlines feed! Read more about it here.

astro

Oct 25, 2017
I am also a teacher.
In all of my years of teaching, never once have I yelled at a student. Literally not once.

I don't see any reason whatsoever to scream at a child, or any person at all, really.
Remaining calm and collected is a much better way to get the point across.

I agree with your point that there's a difference between screaming at a person, and loudly lecturing. The primary question is which one the OP employs.

But my real point is that increasing volume doesn't ever seem to actually help anything, regarding lectures/arguments/debates/etc.
Yelling, getting angry, etc... are never going to add anything positive. This is pretty universally known.

However, not everyone has the same temperament, so while you find it easy to remain composed/calm not everyone does.

That doesn't mean yelling is correct, but yelling also doesn't make a person a monster or a bad parent.

The idea that everyone can be like you just isn't realistic, is my main point here.

Siggy-P

Avenger
Mar 18, 2018
I'm trying not to be vague, I really am. I didn't think I yelled that often and I can't even think of what I really specifically say when I do yell.

I certainly don't scream, I don't think I have the voice for that.

Well you're certainly well intentioned and clearly conflicted about this whole thing so most propel here will give you the benifit of the doubt.