Pokemon Direct Announced for January 9th

MondoMega

Member
Jan 10, 2018
22,134
Sydney, Australia


LIVESTREAM LINKS:
NA:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OMXRyk7ikjI
JP: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ees8NsHd1XA / https://live2.nicovideo.jp/watch/lv323430767
EU/UK: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9ytycLp6j6E

COUNTDOWN:


DATE AND TIME:
NA:
January 9th @ 6:30 AM PT / 9:30 AM ET
JP: January 9th @ 11:30 PM JST
EU: January 9th @ 3:30 PM CET
UK: January 9th @ 2:30 PM UK Time
AUS: January 10th @ 1:30 AM AEST

ANNOUNCEMENTS:
Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Rescue Team DX (ERA Thread)


Pokémon Sword / Pokémon Shield: Expansion Pass (ERA Thread)
 
Last edited:

Duffking

Member
Oct 27, 2017
3,125
Not the Direct we expected. Wonder what they're doing that warrants a lone direct. Big S/S update?
 

Naga

Member
Aug 29, 2019
4,046
Pokken 2 here we go.
But seriously, couldn't we get a regular direct?
 

Plum

The Fallen
May 31, 2018
8,521
The first direct of the 2020s is a Pokemon Direct that won't even be revealing a new generation...

 

Raijinto

Member
Oct 28, 2017
8,573
Truly exciting and will surely be received really well by the people on the Worldwide Web.
 

Napalm_Frank

Avenger
Oct 27, 2017
3,459
Finland
Hard to be excited about Pokemon after S&S.

That said I'd love if they added some of the older ones to Switch but I doubt it's on their radar right now. Took forever for them to add em to 3DS. I'd check out Emerald and see what I missed back in GBA days.
 

KoolAid

Member
Oct 25, 2017
4,697
Pokemon Home and some more spinoffs, maybe? It's 20 minutes so it has to be juicy.
 

Finale Fireworker

Love each other or die trying.
Member
Oct 25, 2017
8,503
United States
Can't say this is what I expected. Or wanted.

Curious to see if this is a Sword & Shield patch and what problems they'll try to address. It feels too soon to announce a new game, but I assume we will finally hear about Home. I wouldn't be surprised if it's all Home stuff. Edit: Wow, 20 minutes? I guess I don't know what to expect then.
 

Aleh

Member
Oct 27, 2017
7,350
This kinda confirms to me that we won’t get DPP remakes this year. They would never reveal a remake so early in the year.
 

Kuraudo

Member
Oct 25, 2017
1,405
Sweet. All of Nintendo's other franchises have been in the spotlight so much lately. Good to see them giving some attention to one of their lesser-seen franchises :)
 

WrenchNinja

Member
Oct 25, 2017
9,952
Canada
Same day the promoted raids for G-Max mons end

I find that interesting. Maybe they will do raids for the foreign mons following the direct.
 

Sandfox

Member
Oct 25, 2017
16,556
People got themselves hyped up for a general direct based on little to no evidence.
 

--R

Member
Oct 25, 2017
5,131
Home, Sleep, Detective Pikachu 2, Diamond / Pearl remakes. Please.
 

Plum

The Fallen
May 31, 2018
8,521
Truly exciting and will surely be received really well by the people on the Worldwide Web.
Are people supposed to be excited for this or something?

You can be as excited as you want but that doesn't mean other people who wanted something more than this are in the wrong.
 

daripad

The Fallen
Oct 29, 2017
608
A mainline Pokémon game just came out, let us breath PLEAASSEEE. Unless it is free updates, I won't be super excited.
 

Bedameister

Member
Oct 26, 2017
2,942
Woah, this is unexpected. How big can we expect? SwSh DLC? Gen IV remaster? What kind of information have they given out before at such an early date in the year?
 

BGBW

Member
Oct 25, 2017
9,573
First they cut my Pokémon and now they've cut my Directs! You can't keep getting away with this Game Freaks!!!111