• Ever wanted an RSS feed of all your favorite gaming news sites? Go check out our new Gaming Headlines feed! Read more about it here.
Oct 28, 2017
Hey guys. As a lot of you know, I have been struggling with my career lately. However, I am very excited to say I received a job offer at a new company! It's much more pay, benefits and PTO.

I have never had to resign from a job of this type to move on to a better opportunity, and I am looking for advice on how to do so gracefully. I am going to give 2 weeks notice, but I don't really know how or what to do. Do I have a meeting with my boss and let him know? I am a contractor, so do I go through my contract company? Obviously I want to stay on good terms with everyone so I want to do it in a positive way. I would appreciate any experience from anyone here who's been a contractor before.

TheJackdog

Oct 27, 2017
I would meet with whoever is immediately in charge of your position and inform him "while I love it here blah blah blah I have a new opportunity" and give your two weeks, simple. Dont over think it. You arent breaking up with your SO youre leaving a company its business. I would also meet with anyone you've worked for/under that you have respect for to give them a heads up too, but not obligated. Theres nothing wrong with popping by and letting someone know too just as an aside.

Contractor makes it different, but meet with whoever is signing the checks first, then do the second, wether thats boss or contract company

edit: write a letter of resignation. google a template. it needs to be basically a paragraph that has your last day.

Patryn

Oct 25, 2017
The way I've done it in the past is to ask to speak to my boss and let them know that you're leaving. Given your situation, I'd also give the contract company a heads up at the same time. Printing out a letter announcing your intent to resign and giving your departure date can be helpful and look professional.