• Ever wanted an RSS feed of all your favorite gaming news sites? Go check out our new Gaming Headlines feed! Read more about it here.
  • We have made minor adjustments to how the search bar works on ResetEra. You can read about the changes here.

BlueOdin

Oct 26, 2017
So I finished Enderal: Forgotten Stories for the blitz yesterday. It's a full conversion mod for Skyrim that you can play for free if you own a version of Skyrim on PC that isn't the VR version.

Was looking forward to this because someone I studied with really liked Enderal and there was some hype around it here and there from what I've read. Was also intrigued by all the praise for the story even if people used the typical superlatives of "This small team/mod succeeds where multi-million dollar teams fail!".

It didn't quite deliver on that. While I think what they do in the story is good it isn't something incredibly unique. At least the single elements of the end of a civilization and how people react differently towards it. Even two of the twists right before the end didn't feel particular new or fresh. There are some neat features to how the main antagonists operate and how they do not much else other than use human traits like pride and hubris to bring the downfall of countless civilizations through the ages. And while I think the world building has some cool bits in it there are things like the Undercity under the main city. Is it there because rich people are exploiting them? Some characters go full conservative and say these people are only there because they are lazy and take drugs and only need to pull themselves together to get out of it.