• Ever wanted an RSS feed of all your favorite gaming news sites? Go check out our new Gaming Headlines feed! Read more about it here.
  • We have made minor adjustments to how the search bar works on ResetEra. You can read about the changes here.

Reki

Oct 25, 2017
Disclaimer: this is a thread by CLaddyOnFire backed by the Adopt-a-user program.

I find myself at work in front of a computer with lots of idle time, and I'd really love to fill it with something a bit more engaging than browsing Era all day (sorry). Given that I would need something purely browser-based, I thought I'd get a discussion started about what browser games y'all enjoy that are good time-sinks, have good progression, or generally just have that "gotta get my time in every day" feeling.

To kick things off, I'll offer up the best browser game I've ever been a part of, Billy vs. Snakeman

http://www.animecubed.com/billy/

It's made by one guy, and I started playing it back in high school, around 2007. It's still active, albeit with a very small active playerbase. Updates are few and far between, but the creator interacts with the community all the time and is still dedicated to adding more and more content.

Part parody, part celebration, part nonsense, it takes a bunch of then-popular anime and inserts as many of their tropes as possible into an incredibly deep game. Essentially, you're a "ninja" with Chakra and Taijutsu/Ninjutsu/Genjutsu levels. You join a village, do quests to increase your player rank, and complete storylines. You recruit "Allies" you would recognize as parodies of characters from a TON of various anime (Naruto, Bleach, Death Note, Code Geass, etc.) and use them to advance in the story. There is an ENORMOUS amount of content to get through, but luckily you don't have to do it all at once. Some content doesn't unlock until your second or third "Season" so you don't get bombarded immediately, and experienced players can help you decide what and when to do things.