hlhbk

Oct 25, 2017
I recently started playing the PC port of AC: V with all settings maxed. I really like it (I am shocked cause I wasn't a fan of the change of direction to an RPG). I however have noticed on PC the draw distance is pretty bad and there is a lot of pop in right in front of me. I am reading others seeing the same. I also read the PS5 version didn't have this issue possibly? Can anyone confirm this? Also graphically how does the PS5 port compare to PC?

For clarification all settings are maxed at 1440p.

Specs:

Intel 8700k
32 GB RAM
Nvidia RTX 3080
SSD

Grimminski

Oct 27, 2017
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Can you clarify if the pop in is the same?
Draw Distance / Density on grass is higher on PS5, equivalent to an Ultra setting that doesn't exist.

You can open the config file in your Documents/Assassin's Creed Valhalla folder and increase a few settings.

Character=2 can be increased to 4. It's for NPC LOD's and is not a setting in the menu, but was for ACO.
SSAO=2 can be increased to 3, which would be Very High in ACO
Rain=2 can be increased to 3, not sure if it does anything, but it doesn't revert.

Tessellation, Fog, Terrain none of those work and may even crash the game.

JahIthBer

Jan 27, 2018
The port is pretty bad, stuttering on slower DDR4, utterly poor performance on Nvidia & the settings are tuned lower than Odyssey's PC version which makes the PS5/SX versions of Valhalla graphically better, honestly Ubisoft probably did the last part on purpose.

TooBusyLookinGud

Graphics Engineer
Verified
Oct 27, 2017
California
Always go with console for Ubisoft games
The port is pretty bad, stuttering on slower DDR4, utterly poor performance on Nvidia & the settings are tuned lower than Odyssey's PC version which makes the PS5/SX versions of Valhalla graphically better, honestly Ubisoft probably did the last part on purpose.