• Ever wanted an RSS feed of all your favorite gaming news sites? Go check out our new Gaming Headlines feed! Read more about it here.
  • We have made minor adjustments to how the search bar works on ResetEra. You can read about the changes here.

Do you like letterbox cutscenes and aspect ratio changes?

• Yes I love it.

Votes: 23 13.1%
  • No I hate it.

Votes: 45 25.7%
  • Neutral.

Votes: 84 48.0%
  • Don't even notice.

Votes: 23 13.1%

• Total voters

jman1954goat

Linked the Fire
May 9, 2020
I just started playing Ghost of Tsushima and noticed most of the cutscenes. I remember getting super annoyed at Evil Within back in the day for it but I am finding myself liking it in Ghost despite being a little jarring with bad quick transitions . (Helps that gameplay is free of it.)

my favorite implementation is Red dead 2. The way the letterbox slowly slides in when approaching a cutscene is really neat and smooth. In general red dead had some surprisingly good shot composition.

I also really like when media besides games play with letterbox 's like how WandaVision has a couple of scenes with Red dead redemption type slow and smooth aspect ratio changes or like how kill la kill has flashbacks in 4:3.

Edit: I also like the subtitles being over the black letterbox making them easier to read.

so what do you think? Do you like it dislike letterbox and aspect ratio changes?

Last edited:

AshenOne

Feb 21, 2018
Pakistan
i don't appreciate it in video games. It interferes with my immersion personally. I'd like to see all of the stuff on my screen without artificial barriers.

Aurica

音楽オタク - Comics Council 2020
The Fallen
Oct 25, 2017
A mountain in the US
I also really like when media besides games play with letterbox 's like how WandaVision has a couple of scenes with Red dead redemption type slow and smooth aspect ratio scenes