Are you more interested in current gen right now or next gen?

• My attention is still largely on what this gen is doing.

Votes: 356 68.1%
  • My interest is leaning toward what we will begin seeing for 2020 and it’s new generation.

Votes: 167 31.9%

• Total voters

BAD

Oct 25, 2017
USA
I stopped buying most games in 2018. I skipped stuff I'd normally buy like God of War 2018 or Detroit or Death Stranding. Tech demos ruined my life. I have only beaten Resident Evil 2 this year (which was actually excellent). I don't think there's any games I want left on this gen besides The Last of Us 2 and Cyberpunk 2077 (for Xbox One X), and even those I know will get better ports later in the year so I kind of wish they had just built them to never run on base consoles from 2013 in the first place. Granted, me being the desperate person I am, have both the PS4 Pro and Xbox One X and will replace them next gen with Scarlett and PS5.

I've been playing Red Dead 2 for most of 2019. I got it on Xbox One X since it was easily the best version to play when I started. It's stunning and I love it. But I'd be lying if I didn't say I was distracted by thinking about what will be next from the kings of open world gaming at Rockstar. Imagine.

But it does kind of suck to be losing interest in current games because of their predominantly visual limitations.

There's just something about knowing that many studios, especially the first party teams, were already working on next gen exclusives. Moved on from the limits of this gen. Meanwhile third parties and 343 Industries will likely murder my happiness for the first year or so making stuff like a cross gen Halo Infinite and such.

And before you tell me cross gen games are just as good and beautiful and unlimited as current gen only titles, maybe google around a bit. It's just not the case. Base consoles will hold as back for a while for business reasons.