entremet

You wouldn't toast a NES cartridge
Oct 26, 2017
I've been replaying the DX version NSO's Gameboy app. Game ages like fine wine. I also played the remake on Switch, which I also loved. I know some folks hated the framerate issues. I had no problems. Hopefully Switch 2 can fix this for future replays. I've seen overclock mods fix it.

I owned and played all versions. This is my first time replaying DX a few years. I do wish the original GB version would be made available as well. But I doubt it.

I prefer it to the LTTP. It just have more personality, fun NPCs, and interesting stuff with the 2D sections. It is also just a tighter playthrough. LTTP has the 3 baby dungeons, which kills the pacing for in replays. I prefer ABLW here, it fixes the pacing.

I actually care about Marin in the game, even with the tiny amount of dialogue. Zelda in LTTP is a typical damsel with no personality. Animal Village is rather fun and so is the original village. The humor with the photographer in the DX and remake, the trading game, the reaction if you steal from the shopkeeper. It just has so much more charm than LTTP.

I'm going to tackle the Oracle games next.

Last edited:
Dec 30, 2020
They were all fantastic, especially the original at the time. Loved the photography aspect in the DX version and hunting down the color dungeon.

I'd love to see the Oracle games get a similar treatment in terms of remakes.

onibirdo

Dec 9, 2020
I wasn't too big on the remake but the OG will always be my favourite Zelda.

EDIT: time to listen to the OST for the millionth time I guess.

Kazooie

Jul 17, 2019
Absolutely brilliant game and an astounding achievement on Game Boy. Considering what Zelda 1 and 2 were on similar hardware before, it really goes to show what would have been possible before. Link's Awakening is a pretty much perfect game. The Oracles are also great.

Moff

Oct 26, 2017
My favorite game of my childhood. Always loved it more than ALTTP. the overworld is so much better.