• Ever wanted an RSS feed of all your favorite gaming news sites? Go check out our new Gaming Headlines feed! Read more about it here.
  • We have made minor adjustments to how the search bar works on ResetEra. You can read about the changes here.

Nothing Loud

Literally Cinderella
Oct 25, 2017
So as a multi-disciplinary researcher I tend to lurk academic twitter and biorxiv and medrxiv…well this week there was a new preprint (means not yet peer reviewed) paper by schools like UF, Indiana University, Cincinnati, etc that I found positively fascinating but I'm sure many on here may have different views.

Please read as much of the paper as you can. Does the headline scare you? Does the actual content scare you? How about after reading the whole paper?

I've seen such a variety of responses to AI news that I wonder what plucking an example from the bioengineering biorxiv actually does to resonate with the average (and non-average) era user.

What this paper proposes is a method to build better AI hardware by using artificially-grown human pluripotent stem cells that become advanced synthetic brain tissue that can respond to spatiotemporal electrical pulses to function as a biological neural network (BNN).

It then tests this synthetic living AI hardware on solving math problems that are very hard for current mainstream computing technology to solve quickly (nonlinear dynamics, including a chaotic term), requiring numerical methods to estimate the answer to a math problem, with significant variation due to error. However this "brainoware" hardware can actually handle these types of nonlinear/differential equations more instinctively because of their intrinsically nonlinear physical state.

So you may have not known already that bioengineers do these sorts of things. Frankly it just reminds me that we live in the future already.