• Ever wanted an RSS feed of all your favorite gaming news sites? Go check out our new Gaming Headlines feed! Read more about it here.
  • We have made minor adjustments to how the search bar works on ResetEra. You can read about the changes here.

Sambumbia-PR

Banned
Dec 23, 2017
This amazing CPU runs too hot even with a good cooler. To my surprise doing an undervolt gave me better Cinebench 23 scores while running -12° cooler. Going to google and youtube searching for tutorials is kind of scattershot so I wanted to post the amalgamation of info found on how I made my CPU cooler and stable. Im no expert and all credit goes to the smarter individuals who kindly gave their time for these tutorials. I always welcome suggestions on how I can improve this undervolt method.

[Updated 12/04/22] Threadmarks added
[Updated 12/06/22] Changed CPPC Cores to Enabled

[This is focused on gaming]

Things to Download:

OCBASE for Stress and Stability test
Cinebench 23 for benchmark and stress. My score is 15013 multicore for reference.
PBO2 Tuner- Shown as Debug-cli.7z
HWinfo Portable for monitoring sensors like temps and power draws.

Bios Prep [On MSI press the DEL key when powering up]

Im using a MSI B550 Tomahawk and a $40 cooler with the latest BIOS. So, google your corresponding motherboard and get that latest BIOS.

Every motherboard should have these settings, they just have them in different places in your BIOS menu. Remember that if you do not see an option, there should be an Advanced mode and a OC Explore mode you can toggle to make those options appear:

1) XMP- Quite possibly the most important setting for a Ryzen CPU. Activate it and use that RAM to its better potential.

2) FLCK- Make sure half your XMP's Ram speed is chosen. In my case my XMP is 3200, so my FLCK is 1600. If found out recently that if I set my FLCK this way, the Infinity Fabric setting also changes to 1600, which is what we want.

index.php

3) CPU Voltage Offset (-): 0.05