• Ever wanted an RSS feed of all your favorite gaming news sites? Go check out our new Gaming Headlines feed! Read more about it here.
  • We have made minor adjustments to how the search bar works on ResetEra. You can read about the changes here.

Nothing Loud

Literally Cinderella
Oct 25, 2017
I live in Seattle and will finish my PhD soon (in less than 2 years). I'm a computational biologist/biostatistician/bioengineer so my career is in demand (biotech). My husband and I would qualify for Canada express entry pretty much immediately and we own real estate in Seattle so we could sell it and get something decent in Vancouver if we were to move.

Given the US is floundering at anything competent on a completely consistent basis and has broken democracy, my husband and I don't intend to raise a kid here and we hate the idea of associating with this country much longer. In the same week Canada announced a handgun freeze and BC announced a decriminalization of street drugs, the US still has cannabis federally illegal and it held an NRA convention in my home state. I'm just so done with the embarrassment of being a USA resident so my husband and I are seriously considering a move to the Vancouver area in about 2-5 years.

So I know all the good reasons to move, try to warn me about the bad things. Why SHOULDNT I move to the Vancouver area? I have the means, the language, the career, and the interest in moving with my partner. What should make us hesitate or hold back?

How's the healthcare? Im a complex health case and I have a great healthcare support system here in the US and I pay almost nothing for it, including couples counseling monthly and individual psychotherapy 2x per week with a trauma psychologist, and monthly meetings with a personal addiction psychiatrist. I take lots of psych meds, I'm a congenital heart disorder patient, I have IBS and Im a dermatology patient. How easy is it to set up this kind of care in Canada?

Thanks for your advice :)