• Ever wanted an RSS feed of all your favorite gaming news sites? Go check out our new Gaming Headlines feed! Read more about it here.
  • We have made minor adjustments to how the search bar works on ResetEra. You can read about the changes here.

El Mariachi

Oct 31, 2017
Austria
After playing 60+ fps games on PC for a long time I started playing on consoles more often last year and was actually surprised how well I was able to handle the framerate dump to 30 fps - but as I turns out it was a lot due to me playing game like Horizon and ACO a lot, which both feel insanely smooth despite the 30 fps.

When I booted up Witcher 3 the other day I was like.... wow, this really feels like a 30 fps game.

Can someone explain to me what the reason is for this? Is this motion blur? If yes, I tried playing around with those settings in Witcher 3 and still wasn't able to get it as smooth as Horizon.

Sinfamy

Banned
Oct 27, 2017
Good motion blur mixed with really tight controls.
Why I loved Dark Souls on PS3, felt really responsive.

Doskoi Panda

One Winged Slayer
Oct 27, 2017
The quality of the motion blur, the responsiveness of camera control (and input in general), and frame pacing are the major contributors to the differences you feel from game to game.

I haven't played W3 on consoles, but I'd assume that as with many other open-world RPGs it's the frame pacing that has W3 feeling choppier than other 30fps games for you

lordlad

Banned for trolling with an alt account
Banned
Oct 27, 2017
Singapore
frame pacing

good 30fps: Horizone ZD, UC4 & LL

bad 30fps: FROM Software games

Sei

Oct 28, 2017
LA
the Frame pacing is tight, that means the game is running at 45+ FPS but is locked down to 30.

In other games the game is barely running at 25-30 FPS, and it's noticeably lagging.

Oct 25, 2017
湘南
I think if there's one thing DF has taught me (there's more), it's that frame pacing is just as, if not, more important than frame rate.

Bloodborne is still in my top 10 tho

OP
OP