• Ever wanted an RSS feed of all your favorite gaming news sites? Go check out our new Gaming Headlines feed! Read more about it here.
  • We have made minor adjustments to how the search bar works on ResetEra. You can read about the changes here.

Combo

Banned
Jan 8, 2019
I must admit, I am not an expert in pop music to put it mildly. I listen to other things. However even from my perspective, what I have heard of pop music sounds like its gone down in quality in the last decade or two.

I have noticed three trends in modern pop music: 1, It's more bland and with less variety. 2, It's more depressing. 3, It's over sexualized even when the context is not appropriate.

There seems to be evidence in studies for all three points.

Thus, beyond the global perspective, we observe a number of trends in the evolution of contemporary popular music. These point towards less variety in pitch transitions, towards a consistent homogenization of the timbral palette, and towards louder and, in the end, potentially poorer volume dynamics.

NEW YORK (AP) — A study of hundreds of thousands of popular songs over the past three decades has found a downward sonic trend in happiness and an increase in sadness, as the chirpy band Wham! gave way to the moody Sam Smith.

I can't easily find a study on music being more sexualized but I have noticed that modern pop music listened by young girls is oddly sexualized. I had a family member who wanted to take their 6 your old daughter to a concert of a famous female pop star when I looked them up, the content was surprising sexual for someone with young girls as their fans. And when lyrics are sexual even though the music style sounds like it is not appropriate for that. Why is that?

I can understand music being more depressing (it may be a sign of the times) but I don't know why people lapped up music that is lower in quality. Why has that happened?

Edit:

I just found this paper: