• Ever wanted an RSS feed of all your favorite gaming news sites? Go check out our new Gaming Headlines feed! Read more about it here.
  • We have made minor adjustments to how the search bar works on ResetEra. You can read about the changes here.

Shining Star

Banned
May 14, 2019
This is my first time getting a console at launch and I am looking forward to it. I think the closest I have come before now was getting a Vita like nine months after it came out. Long live the Vita. Anyway who else is doing all this for the first time with a PS5 or a Series X/S?

BasilZero

Oct 25, 2017
Omni
Not me

Closest to a console launch I did was the Gamecube but it was like a month after its release due to a shortage.

Also PSP in NA - that was like 2 months after its release.

Nowadays, I wait minimum 2 years.

Edit: Speaking of which, technically 3 years but I'm buying a Switch later this month.

LightKiosk

One Winged Slayer
Oct 27, 2017
Now that I think about it... I think this will be the first time I actually get a new console on release day, or at least release week. I always waited 2-3 months for previous systems.

Dan83

Jan 24, 2020
Not me, have to wait another week :( Just got my new Sony Bravia with 2.1HDMI today though. Cannot wait

Hasi

Banned
Apr 25, 2020
Me :) Getting my XSX delivered launch day and super hyped about it, because I didn't have an Xbox One so I have tons of new games to play.

And with gamepass, I'll actually get to experience a bunch of games when they launch too, instead of having to wait for a sale. Finally get to be part of The Conversation™ for once.

killa2max

May 17, 2018
Seattle, WA
I pretty much always get new consoles at launch. Sometimes I wait a year or so for PlayStation if the Xbox and PlayStation consoles come out the same year, but this year I'm getting both at launch. Also upgraded to an LG OLED CX, so I'm fucking stoked to play some games on that beast.

badabeezy

Oct 27, 2017